Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
British Women Writers by
Call Number: PR1110.W6 B75 1989
Publication Date: 1989-11-01
An anthology of poems, plays, short stories, extracts from novels, diaries, letters, and journalism by over 60 women authors over the last 600 years.
The Cambridge History of English Literature, 1660-1780 by
Call Number: PR442 .C36 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-06
The Cambridge History of English Literature, 1660-1780 offers readers discussions of the entire range of literary expression from the Restoration to the end of the eighteenth century. In essays by thirty distinguished scholars, recent historical perspectives and new critical approaches and methods are brought to bear on the classic authors and texts of the period. The volume's guiding purpose is to examine the social and historical circumstances within which literary production and imaginative writing take place in the period and to evaluate the enduring verbal complexity and cultural insights they articulate so powerfully.
The Cambridge History of Medieval English Literature by
Call Number: PR255 .C35 2002
Publication Date: 2002-04-25
Thirty-three distinguished contributors offer a collaborative account of literature composed or transmitted in England, Wales, Ireland and Scotland between the Norman conquest and the death of Henry VIII in 1547. It provides information on a vast range of literary texts and the conditions of their production and reception, which will serve both specialists and general readers, and also contains a chronology, full bibliography and a detailed index. This book offers an extensive and vibrant account of the medieval literatures so drastically reconfigured in Tudor England. It will thus prove essential reading for scholars of the Renaissance as well as medievalists, and for historians as well as literary specialists.
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature by
Call Number: PR19 .C66 2006eb
Publication Date: 2006-02-14
The Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature is an essential companion to a literary tradition of extraordinary depth. Includes entries by more than 200 authorities covering all of British literature. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
A Literature of Their Own by
Call Number: PR115 .S5 1999
Publication Date: 1999-01-17
When first published in 1977, A Literature of Their Own quickly set the stage for the creative explosion of feminist literary studies that transformed the field in the 1980s. Launching a major new area for literary investigation, the book uncovered the long but neglected tradition of women writers in England. This revised and expanded edition contains a new introductory chapter surveying the book's reception and a new postscript chapter celebrating the legacy of feminism and feminist criticism in the efflorescence of contemporary British fiction by women.
The Longman Anthology of British Literature by
Call Number: PR1109 .L67 1999 v.1-2
Publication Date: 1998-07-09
"The Longman Compact Anthology of British Literature" is a concise and thoughtfully arranged survey of British literature for the one semester course. Volume one covers: The Middle Ages; The early modern period; The Restoration and the 18th century. Volume two covers: The Romantics and their contemporaries; The Victorian age; The twentieth century.
Twenty-First-Century Black British Writers by
Call Number: PR120.B55 T94 2009eb
Publication Date: 2009-03-27
This volume complements the work of earlier literary historians and of the featured writers themselves by enlarging the reader's knowledge about the cultural ferment going on in Britain at the beginning of the third millennium. The writers included all seek to transform British society by casting a light on cultural realities that can no longer be overlooked. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
Language and Literature: P
Literature (General): PN
English Literature: PR
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264