Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
The Cambridge Companion to American Gay and Lesbian Literature by
Call Number: PS153.G38 C36 2015eb
Publication Date: 2015-06-05
This Companion examines the connections between LGBTQ populations and American literature from the late eighteenth to twenty-first centuries. It surveys primary and secondary writings under the evolving category of gay and lesbian authorship, and incorporates current thinking in US-based LGBTQ studies as well as critical practices within the field of American literary studies. Additionally, the content details the chief genres, conventional historical backgrounds, and influential interpretive practices that support the analysis of LGBTQ literatures in the United States. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
The Cambridge Companion to Native American Literature by
Call Number: PS153.I52 C36 2005
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
This Companion chronicles and celebrates path of American Indian literature by defining relevant institutional, historical, cultural, and gender contexts, by outlining the variety of genres written since the 1770s, and also by focusing on significant authors who established a place for Native literature in literary canons in the 1970s, achieved international recognition in the 1980s, and performance-celebrity status in the 1990s. Includes bio-bibliographies of forty authors, maps, suggestions for further reading, and a timeline which details major works of Native American literature and mainstream American literature, as well as significant social, cultural and historical events.
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature by
Call Number: PS153.N5 E48 2013eb
Publication Date: 2013
This updated and comprehensive encyclopedia presents a reference guide to African American literature providing profiles of notable and little-known writers and their works, literary forms and genres, critics and scholars, themes and terminology, and more. Includes coverage of authors central to the "Survey of African American Literature," course. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Encyclopedia of African-American writing: five centuries of contribution: trials & triumphs of writers, poets, publications and organizations by
Call Number: PS153.N5 A3444 2018eb
Publication Date: 2018
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
Encyclopedia of American Literature by
Call Number: PS21 .E54 2013eb
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
This updated and comprehensive encyclopedia includes entries on writers, works, literary movements, and a variety of other topics. Regionally and culturally inclusive, entries on writers describe key life events, provide thumbnail descriptions of and critical reactions to their works, and discuss the writer's significance in the literary period. Four volumes present a comprehensive reference guide to American literature from the colonial period through the present and includes authors central to the “Survey of American Literature I & II” courses. Online copy available for viewing, click on the title or search the library catalog.
The Norton Anthology of American Literature by
Call Number: PS507 .N65 2017 v.1-2
Publication Date: 2017-09-15
The most trusted anthology for complete works, balanced selections, and helpful editorial apparatus, The Norton Anthology of American Literature, Shorter Ninth Edition, features a cover-to-cover revision. Fresh scholarship, new authors and topical clusters, a new eBook, and an enriched instructor site make the Norton Anthology an even better teaching tool for instructors and an unmatched value for students.
The Vintage Book of American Women Writers by
Call Number: PS508.W7 V56 2011
Publication Date: 2011-01-11
For centuries women have been marginalized and overlooked in American literary history. That injustice is corrected in this entertaining and provocative collection of 350 years of poetry and fiction by American women. From Puritan poet Anne Bradstreet to Margaret Fuller and Harriet Beecher Stowe, to contemporary stars like Annie Proux and Jhumpa Lahiri, readers will encounter scores of lesser-known and forgotten writers who fully deserve to be rediscovered and enjoyed by new generations. This landmark anthology offers an epic overview of the canon.
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
Language and Literature: P
Literature (General): PN
American Literature: PS
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264