Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Brazilian Government Documents Digitization Project
"The Latin American Materials Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930."
Carribean Views (British Library)
Drawn from various collections within the library, materials include collections of maps, manuscripts, printed books and newspapers, relating to the British West Indies. Materials showcase life in the English-speaking Caribbean from the 18th to early 19th centuries.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Curated links to visual and audio material, highlighting primary source material for educators and students. Sources contain political and legal documents, narrative accounts, personal memoirs, songs, newspaper reports, as well as cultural, philosophical, religious and scientific documents.
Latin America and the Caribbean: Photographs, Manuscripts, and Imprints (Southern Methodist University)
"The digital collection portrays the landscape, people, and technology of various countries, including Costa Rica, Peru , Bolivia, El Salvador, and Cuba in the late 19th century, and includes a set of photos of St. Pierre, Martinique, before and after the eruption of Mt. Pelee in 1902. The DeGolyer Library also holds significant collections relating to Mexico[.]"
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Latin American History
Designed as a syllabus to accompany study from the text Modern Latin America, Eighth Edition (Oxford, 2013), this site nonetheless has a wealth of resources, readings, video and other presentations that provide an excellent introduction and overview of Latin American History with or without the textbook.
Realms of the Sacred in Daily Life: Early Written Records of Mesoamerica (University of California-Irvine)
Manuscripts from Aztec, Mayan, Mixtec, and Colonial sources, as well as from the Borgia Group from the collections at UC Irvine Libraries.
Vistas: Visual Culture in Spanish America 1520-1820 (Smith College)
Supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities this digital project showcases galleries of places, documents, iconography, paintings, and other significant historical and archeological items. Includes a bibliography and links to further sources.
The World of 1898: The Spanish-American War
Project of the Library of Congress, this site includes special presentations of several geographic areas in Latin America, a chronology of the war, personal narratives, maps, manuscripts, illustrations, and literary responses. Also includes an index, bibliography, and a link to additional library resources.
Not sure if you should trust a website?
Go to our research tutorial to get tips on finding and evaluating websites
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264