Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History by
Call Number: G1541.S1 L37 2019eb
Publication Date: 2018-09-03
An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History provides a comprehensive, accessible introduction to both the human and physical geography of Latin America and the social, cultural, political and economic events that have defined its history. Featuring 77 maps and accompanying text, the book provides topical overviews of the key developments and movements in Latin American history, ranging from the earliest human settlement to the present day.
The Conquest of History by
Call Number: F1408.3 .S39 2006eb
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
As Spain rebuilt its colonial regime in Cuba, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines after the Spanish American revolutions, it turned to history to justify continued dominance. The metropolitan vision of history, however, always met with opposition in the colonies. The Conquest of History examines how historians, officials, and civic groups in Spain and its colonies forged national histories out of the ruins and relics of the imperial past.
Encyclopedia of colonial Latin America : 1550s to 1820s by
Call Number: F1412 .E533 2017eb
Publication Date: 2017
The Encyclopedia of Colonial Latin America (1550s to 1820s) covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from the arrival of the Spanish, colonization, and independence movements until the 1820s.
Encyclopedia of early modern Latin America (1820s to 1900) by
Call Number: F1413 .E534 2017eb
Publication Date: 2017
The Encyclopedia of Early Modern Latin America (1820s to 1900) covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, examining Latin America's search for its own identity from the middle of the 19th century to the start of the 20th.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
Call Number: F1406 .E53 1996
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
The 5,300 entries over four volumes, organized in A-Z dictionary format, treat the entire territory of Spanish and Portuguese conquest and exploration in the New World. Each country is the subject of a narrative historical survey and a series of entries on its history and geography, its politics, constitutions, political parties, labor unions, and educational institutions. Cross-cultural essays elaborate the broad themes of Pan-American civilization, the roles of women and the family, the history of African and native slavery, conquest, revolution, immigration, and political stability, the rise of industry and commerce, relations with the United States, and the exploration and protection of natural resources on two continents.
Encyclopedia of pre-colonial Latin America : (prehistory to 1550s) by
Call Number: F1411 .E536 2017eb
Publication Date: 2017
The Encyclopedia of Precolonial Latin America (Prehistory to 1550s) covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from prehistory through the achievements of the Incas in the 16th century.
Latin American Development by
Call Number: HN110.5.A8 C87 2013eb
Publication Date: 2013-05-03
This text provides a comprehensive introduction to Latin American development in the twenty-first century, emphasizing political, economic, social, cultural and environmental dimensions of development. It explores the region's historical trajectory, the implementation and rejection of the neoliberal model and the role played by diverse social movements. This accessible text gives an overarching historical and geographical analysis of the region and critical analysis of recent developments.
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
History of the Americas: E and F
Latin American History: F 1201-3799
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264