LibGuides: Harp: Research

Articles

Articles are great for research because they generally cover a very narrow topic in great detail. In addition, scholarly journal articles generally include a bibliography where you can find more resources on the same topic.

Browse Professional Journals

Professional journals are a great place to learn from experts about the most recent developments in your field.
Search articles online or browse the Allen Library current periodicals (near the Allen entrance). See especially:

American Harp Journal by American Harp Society
Call Number: ML1 AHJ
Available online (2006-present) and in print (1967-present).
International Musician by American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada
Available in print (last two years on current periodicals shelf) and online (2003 - present).
World Harp Congress Review
Available online only (2006-present).

Journal Article Databases

Library databases provide citations for articles, book chapters, and more. Most articles/chapters focus on a narrow and specific topic, so they are great for deeper research. To get started:

Choose a database.
Search for keywords such as genres, topics, names of people, etc.
Limit your results by date, language, and more with the the left-hand menu on the results page.

Need more help?

See our Article help page for step-by-step instructions and videos to help you search databases and find full-text articles. And you can always ask a librarian for individual help.

Music Article Databases

Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 700 music journals.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Article citations from over 400 music journals.
RILM This link opens in a new window
Citations for scholarly music and dance books, articles, dissertations, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from almost 100 scholarly music, dance, and theatre journals, plus other subjects. Excludes recent years.

Books

History Books in the Allen Library (selections)

Guide to the Contemporary Harp by Aubat-Andrieu, Barbé, Breschand, Bancaud
Call Number: ML1005 A82 2019 [Allen shelves]
Explores the harp from all angles, including organology, composition, notation, techniques, and contemporary repertoire.
Harp Music in the Nineteenth Century by Hans J. Zingel; Mark Palkovic (Editor)
Call Number: ML1005 Z77 H [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1992
Covers the development of the double-action mechanism, along with the virtuosos and composers who exploited the newly possible harmonic modulations and tone colors.
Harps and Harpists by Roslyn Rensch
Call Number: ML1005 R42 H36 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1989
Surveys the harp from antiquity to the present day, from the simple early harp to the modern pedal harp.
Henriette Renié, Living Harp by Françoise des Varennes
Call Number: ML419 R41 D47 [Allen shelves]
Publication Date: 1990
Describes the life of composer and harpist Henriette Renié, especially her struggles with gender discrimination.

Find more history books

Browse by subject in the catalog, for example:
Harp
Harp > History
Harpists

Browse the shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML1005	Harp history (general)
ML1006	Harp construction
ML1008	Harp music and playing

Reference

Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.
They often provide a short overview of a topic, then point to more resources you can use for further research.

Music Reference Databases

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Essays about music from all parts of the world.
Grove/Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Extensive music encyclopedia with articles, works lists, and citations.
Oxford Bibliographies - Music This link opens in a new window
Lists of resources for advanced research on many music subjects.

Books in the Allen Library (selections)

Chamber Music by John H. Baron
Call Number: ML128 C4 B37 2010 [Allen reference]
A guide to where to find answers to questions about chamber music of all types. Most of the literature is books, articles, dissertations and theses, and essays or chapters.
Harp Music Bibliography by Mark Palkovic
Call Number: ML128 H2 P3 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1995-2002
Lists thousands of works for harp with up to 8 other instruments, vocal and choral works with harp, and harp concertos.

Find more reference books

See all harp-related reference books in the catalog:
Chamber music reference
Harp reference
String reference

Browse the Reference shelves by call number:

Call Number	Topic
ML128 C4	Chamber music bibliographies
ML128 H2	Harp bibliographies
ML128 S9	String bibliographies

Suggest a Resource

Know of a resource you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!

Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (rudnick@hartford.edu).

Find Full Text Articles

Search eJournal Locator for the journal title:

Need help? See our article help page or ask a librarian.