Skip to Main Content
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
Engineering Response to Climate Change by Robert G. Watts (Editor)
Call Number: QC981.8.C5 E56 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-22
Engineering Response to Climate Change takes on the tough questions of what to do and offers real solutions to the practical problems caused by radical changes in the Earth's climate. From energy consumption and carbon dioxide emissions reduction, to climate-altering technologies, this new edition explores the latest concerns such as acidification of the ocean, energy efficiency, transportation, space solar power, and future and emerging possibilities. Each chapter concludes with discussion questions, calculations, and possible research topics.
Environmental Engineering Dictionary by Frank R. Spellman
Call Number: TD9 .S64 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
This newly updated Dictionary provides a comprehensive reference for hundreds of environmental engineering terms used throughout the field. This fifth edition includes terms relating to pollution control technologies, monitoring, risk assessment, sampling and analysis, quality control, and permitting. Users of this dictionary will find exact and official Environmental Protection Agency definitions for environmental terms that are statute-related, regulation-related, science-related, and engineering-related, including terms from the following legal documents: Clean Air Act; Clean Water Act; CERCLA; EPCRA; Federal Facility Compliance Act; Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act; FIFRA; Hazardous and Solid Waste Amendment; OSHA; Pollution Prevention Act; RCRA; Safe Drinking Water Act; Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act; and TSCA.
Environmental Nanotechnology: Applications and Impacts of Nanomaterials, Second Edition by Mark Wiesner; Jean-Yves Bottero
Call Number: T174.7 .E58 2017eb
Publication Date: 2016-10-07
Cowritten by leaders of two of the most prominent research groups in the world considering the effects of nanomaterials on the environment, this timely, advanced resource features 75% new material and offers comprehensive coverage of the impacts of nanomaterials on organisms and ecosystems and their applications within industry. This Second Edition features all-new chapters that include Ecotoxicology Principles for Manufactured Nanomaterials, Nanomaterials in Ecosystems, Risk Forecasting and Life-Cycle Considerations, and Nanotechnology Governance for Sustainable Science and Policy.
Environmental Sustainability for Engineers and Applied Scientists by Greg Peters; Magdalena Svanström
Call Number: GE300 .P48 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-14
This textbook presents key theoretical approaches to understanding issues of sustainability and environmental management, perfectly bridging the gap between engineering and environmental science. It begins with the fundamentals of environmental modelling and toxicology, which are then used to discuss qualitative and quantitative risk assessment methods, and environmental assessments of product design. Students will learn quantitative methods while also gaining an understanding of qualitative, legal, and ethical aspects of sustainability. This is the perfect textbook on environmental studies for engineering and applied science students.
Handbook of Environmental Engineering by Satinder Kaur Brar; Krishnamoorthy Hegde; Rama Pulicharla; Mausam Verma; Rao Surampalli; Tian C. Zhang
Call Number: TA170 .S865 2018eb
Publication Date: 2018-06-13
A complete guide to environmental regulations and remediation. This practical resource offers thorough coverage of current environmental issues and policies along with step-by-step remediation procedures. Handbook of Environmental Engineering features information on all segments of the market--including water and air quality and hazardous waste--and enables you to ensure compliance with all applicable regulations. Includes details about sensors, monitoring, and toxicity treatment and controls as well as waste management and safe disposal. Real-world examples demonstrate how to apply techniques and achieve compliance, while environmental impact assessments and measurement data enhance the book's utility.
Introduction to Environmental Engineering by Mackenzie L. Davis; David A. Cornwell
Call Number: TD145 .D26 2013
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
Introduction to Environmental Engineering contains the fundamental science and engineering principles needed for introductory courses and used as the basis for more advanced courses in environmental engineering. Updated with latest EPA regulations, Davis and Cornwell apply the concepts of sustainability and materials and energy balance as a means of understanding and solving environmental engineering issues.
Sustainable Design by Daniel A. Vallero; Chris Brasier
Call Number: TH453 .V35 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-25
From thermodynamics to fluid dynamics to computational chemistry, this book sets forth the scientific principles underlying the need for sustainable design, explaining not just the "hows" of sustainable design and green engineering, but also the "whys." Moreover, it provides readers with the scientific principles needed to guide their own sustainable design decisions. With its many examples, case studies, and exercises, the book is also an ideal textbook for students in civil and environmental engineering, construction, and architectural engineering.
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
Environmental Sciences: GE1 - 350
Engineering (General): TA
Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering.: TD1 - 1066
Climatology and weather: QC980 - 999
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264