Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Harrison Libraries COVID-19 Response: Encyclopedias & Reference

Contact Us!

Most staff are working onsite and are available to help you in person or by email, phone, Live Chat, or video meeting (Zoom or WebEx). 

See staff contact information

 

Encyclopedias and Reference Resources

There are many more online reference resources available than what is listed here, especially in subject-specific resources. To find them, browse our Database Locator by subject, or contact a reference librarian.

Jump to:
       Resources available through the Libraries
       Open web resources


Resources available through the Libraries

University login required.

Biography Reference Center—Over 400,000 biographies of historical and contemporary figures.

Credo Reference—Search reference titles from a wide variety of subjects and types, including atlases, dictionaries, encyclopedias, statistics, and speeches.

EBSCO eBooks—Various collections with thousands of eBooks covering music and other subjects. Temporary access available due to COVID-19.

Biography Reference eBook Collection
MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia—Basic encyclopedia with brief information about a broad range of topics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library—Selected reference books in business, education, environment, medicine, biology, and the social sciences.
 

Looking for more? See all the Libraries' new and notable online resources (including temporary resources).
 


Open web resources

Directory of Open Access Books—Over 25,000 scholarly books in all disciplines and languages. Includes some reference resources.

Google Books—Full-text searching for millions of books. Limited preview or full text available for some titles.

HathiTrust—Over 6 million books, including some reference titles. Mainly older editions in the public domain.

Internet Archive—A library of digital materials including web pages, books, audio and video recordings, images, and software.

Open Library—Over 1.7 million books, mostly older editions but some newer books as well. Each book available to only one user at a time. Free account required.

Project MUSE—Selected open-access books and journals.

Top Library Resources

Library Catalog—Search for materials owned by the UH Libraries, including our e-books. Find more e-books through the links in the Books page of this guide.

Database Locator—See all library databases, search for a specific one, or browse by subject.

eJournal Locator—Find our journal titles available online. University login required.

WorldCat—Search for materials owned by other libraries. University login required.question mark icon

ILLiad—Request articles via Interlibrary Loan.

Harrison Libraries Facebook

Want to get the latest updates? Follow us on Facebook!

Allen Library Facebook
Mortensen Library Facebook

University COVID-19 Information

University of Hartford COVID-19 Updates—The most recent updates from the university about classes, campus access, health recommendations, and more.

FCLD (Faculty Center for Learning and Development)—Information for instructors about online learning resources.

Technology—University tech resources and tips for online learning.

A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help

University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264