This guide is no longer being updated. Please see the main Harrison Libraries webpage for information and online research.
Most staff are working onsite and are available to help you in person or by email, phone, Live Chat, or video meeting (Zoom or WebEx).
There are many more online books available than what is listed here, especially in subject-specific resources. To find them, browse our Database Locator by subject, or contact a subject-specific reference librarian.
Jump to:
Resources available through the Libraries
Open web resources
University login required.
EBSCO eBook Collection—Thousands of eBooks in all subjects. Temporary access available due to COVID-19.
JSTOR—Full-text scholarly articles and some open-access e-books. Excludes recent years.
Library catalog—Scholarly resources of all types. Limit your search to electronic resources to find e-books. (Includes some that are temporary access only.)
Looking for more? See all the Libraries' new and notable online resources (including temporary resources).
Directory of Open Access Books—Over 25,000 scholarly books in all disciplines and languages.
Google Books—Full-text searching for millions of books. Limited preview or full text available for some titles.
HathiTrust—Over 6 million books in all subject areas. Mainly older editions in the public domain.
Internet Archive—A library of digital materials including web pages, books, audio and video recordings, images, and software.
Open Library—Over 1.7 million books, mostly older editions but some newer books as well. Each book available to only one user at a time. Free account required.
Project MUSE—Selected open-access books and journals.
University of Michigan Press—A selection of open-access scholarly books in all disciplines. Search by title or browse by subject in the navigation menu.
Library Catalog—Search for materials owned by the UH Libraries, including our e-books. Find more e-books through the links in the Books page of this guide.
Database Locator—See all library databases, search for a specific one, or browse by subject.
eJournal Locator—Find our journal titles available online. University login required.
WorldCat—Search for materials owned by other libraries. University login required.
ILLiad—Request articles via Interlibrary Loan.
Want to get the latest updates? Follow us on Facebook!
University of Hartford COVID-19 Updates—The most recent updates from the university about classes, campus access, health recommendations, and more.
FCLD (Faculty Center for Learning and Development)—Information for instructors about online learning resources.
Technology—University tech resources and tips for online learning.
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264