Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
Abnormal Psychology by
Call Number: RC454 .H334 2010
Publication Date: 2009-01-08
In this text students are shown the human side of Abnormal Psychology. Through the widespread use of current and highly relevant clinical case studies, the biographies and first-person quotations in the Real Stories feature, and the unique case media program Faces Interactive Online, students are presented with real-life portrayals of the disorders featured in the text. The new sixth edition includes updated research coverage and increased pedagogy, designed to maximize student comprehension. The text maintains the integrative approach to treatment using the biopsychosocial model, the lifespan approach, and the succinct coverage that have been the foundations of the text's success.
APA Dictionary of Clinical Psychology by
Call Number: RC467 .A63 2013
Publication Date: 2012-08-13
APA proudly offers this focused abridgment of its landmark, critically acclaimed APA Dictionary of Psychology, specifically tailored for clinicians and clinicians-in-training. The APA Dictionary of Clinical Psychology maintains all the best features of the parent dictionary, including 11,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions--including a number of entirely new entries. Balanced coverage from across such core areas as assessment, evaluation, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of emotional and behavioral disorders; training and supervision; as well as terms more generally relevant to various biological, cognitive, developmental, and personality/social psychological underpinnings of mental health.
Child Psychotherapy by
Call Number: RJ504 .A345 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
All too often children are diagnosed and medicated without the consideration that their symptoms may actually be a healthy response to stressful life events. This integrative guide for mental health practitioners who work with children underscores the importance of considering the etiology of a child's symptoms within a developmental framework before making a diagnosis. Providing advanced training and skills for working with children, the book guides the therapist, step-by-step, through assessment, case conceptualization, and treatment with a focus on the tenets of child development and a consideration of the impact of distressing life events.
Getting the Most Out of Clinical Training and Supervision by
Call Number: RA972 .F35 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
This volume, aimed at students and interns, is written in a user-friendly, interactive style with "real life" case examples and reflection activities. The authors describe how to establish effective working relationships with supervisors and understand the evaluation process. Empirically-supported yet highly practical, this book normalizes the anxieties and conflicts that typically arise during supervision and will be welcomed by students and interns at all levels of experience.
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Psychology by
Call Number: RC467.95 .H36 2012 v.1-2
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
This two-volume set covers the evidence-based practices now identified for treating children and adults with a wide range of DSM disorders. Volume 1 covers child and adolescent disorders, while Volume 2 explores adult disorders. Chapters in each volume provide a comprehensive review of the evidence-based practice literature for each disorder and then cover several different treatment types for clinical implementation.
Handbook of Occupational Health Psychology by
Call Number: RC967.5 .H358 2011
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
This second edition reviews the history of OHP; theories and models; causes of work problems and risks; resulting symptoms and disorders; prevention, intervention, and treatment strategies used by practicing professionals; and methods of research and evaluation. The chapters have been updated, and several new chapters have been added addressing cross-cultural issues, leadership, pain and musculoskeletal conditions, substance abuse, and organizational justice.
Health Psychology by
Call Number: R726.5 .S783 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
Rick Straub's focus on the biopsychosocial model, gender/lifespan/culture perspectives, and real world applications makes Health Psychology a riveting and culturally-enriched educational experience for students. This redesigned new edition has been carefully and extensively updated, enhanced by Straub's meticulous revision process and feedback from instructors and students. With more emphasis on positive health, the new edition examines information from biological, psychological, and social aspects of health offering students a balanced perspective that can help inform their future health decisions in real life.
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
Medicine: Neurosciences: RC 321-574
Medicine: Psychiatry: RC 435-571
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264