Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Resource: OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue for MLA and APA
This site provides strong guidance in writing career related documents including resumes, curriculum vitae (cv's) and cover letters.
The American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style
Authoritative survey of English usage, grammar, and style. University of Hartford Access only.
AMA (American Medical Association) Style Guide (Western Oregon University)
The AMA style provides a way to cite (give credit) to the web pages, articles, books and other sources used in research. This guide will help you with creating in-text citations and references, formatting your paper, and other useful information.
APA Style Guide Website
Official guidelines for citing electronic information sources, including EBSCOhost and other online databases. Official Site.
The Center for Academic Integrity
This site provides a forum to identify, affirm, and promote the values of academic integrity among students, faculty, teachers and administrators.
Chicago Manual of Style Online (CMS)
Widely used style guide that can help answer advanced citation and style questions. Has searchable full text, a useful Q&A, and a citation guide summary. University of Hartford access only.
Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction
Excellent YouTube video explaining Citations and why we need to use them.
An automated citation generator which formats data into the proper format for legal academic use.
The Elements of Style (Bartleby)
Full text of William Strunk's classic guide to proper usage.
Modern Language Association (MLA)
Choose MLA style for guide to formatting citations based on MLA guidelines. Official Site.
Scientific and Technical Reports - ANSI/NISO Z39.18 - 2005 (R2010) - Preparation, Presentation, and Preservation
This standard outlines the elements, organization and design of scientific and technical reports, including guidance for uniform presentation of front and back matter, text, and visual and tabular matter in print and digital formats, as well as recommendations for multimedia reports.
Turabian: A Manual for Writers Quick Guide
Source citations in the Turabian manual come in two varieties: (1) notes and bibliography (or simply notes) and (2) author-date. These two systems are also sometimes referred to as Chicago-style citations, because they are the same as the ones presented in The Chicago Manual of Style. The library has access to the Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) online (Click above link to CMS).
Citation Manager - Mendeley Cite
Being able to work seamlessly is vital to you. So, as well as searching your Mendeley library and inserting individual or multiple references and bibliographies in just a few clicks, with Mendeley Cite.
Citation Manager - Son of Citation Machine
Citation Machine is an interactive web tool designed to assist high school, college, and university students, their teachers, and independent researchers in their effort to respect other people's intellectual property.
Citation Manager - Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work in the web browser itself.
Not sure if you should trust a website?
Go to our research tutorial to get tips on finding and evaluating websites
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264