Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Allen Library COVID-19 Response: Music Resources Online

Contact Us!

Most staff are working onsite and are available to help you in person or by email, phone, Live Chat, or video meeting (Zoom or WebEx). 

See staff contact information

 

Music Resources Online

Your librarians can help navigate these resources!
Contact Lisa Wollenberg, Tracey Rudnick, or Jen Olson.

Jump to:
       Articles
       Books & Dissertations
       Scores
       Streaming Audio & Video
       More Databases


Articles

Resources available through the Libraries

University login required.

eJournal Locator—Find specific journal titles available in full text online.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music—Encyclopedia essays about music around the world.

Grove/Oxford Music Online—Extensive music encyclopedia with articles, works lists, and citations.

JSTOR—Full-text scholarly articles. Excludes recent years.

Music Index—Article citations from over 700 music journals.

Music Periodicals Database—Article citations from over 400 music journals.

RILM—Citations for music and dance books, scholarly articles, dissertations, and more.
 

Open web resources

Project MUSE—Selected open-access books and journals.
 

Back to top


Books & Dissertations

Online resources available through the Libraries

University login required.

EBSCO eBooks—Various collections with thousands of eBooks covering music and other subjects. Temporary access available due to COVID-19.

eBook Collection
MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection

JSTOR—Selected open-access e-books available, plus full-text articles.

Library Catalog—Search for materials owned by the UH Libraries, including our e-books and some e-books temporarily made available through other platforms.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses—Documents in all disciplines.

RILM—Citations for music and dance books, scholarly articles, dissertations, and more.
 

Open web resources

Google Books—Full-text searching for millions of books. Limited preview or full text available for some titles.

Internet Archive—A library of digital materials including web pages, books, audio and video recordings, images, and software.

Open Library—Over 1.7 million books, mostly older editions but some newer books as well. Each book available to only one user at a time. Free account required.

Project MUSE—Selected open-access books and journals.

University of Michigan Press—Small selection of open-access scholarly books in many disciplines.
 

Back to top


Scores

Open web resources

See a more extensive list on Allen Library's Music Scores Online guide.

Boosey & Hawkes—Online perusal scores by composers from the Baroque to present day. Create a free account to view online.

Choral Public Domain Library—Choral and vocal scores from over 3,400 composers.

IMSLPPublic domain (older edition) scores for over 18,000 composers. Also includes some recordings.

Mutopia—Over 2000 pieces free to download. All are public domain or published with Creative Commons licenses.

New York Philharmonic Digital Archives—Almost 40,000 performance scores and parts marked by Philharmonic conductors and musicians, plus programs, images, and more.

Public Domain Song Anthology—348 popular and jazz songs with lead sheets, plus modern and traditional harmonizations.

ScoresOnDemand (Issuu)—Online perusal scores from members of Wise Music Group: Chester Music, Novello & Co, G. Schirmer/AMP, Edition Wilhelm Hansen; Unión Musical.
 

Back to top


Streaming Audio & Video

Online resources always available through the Libraries

University login required.

Naxos Music Library—Our largest classical music audio database.

DRAM—Mainly classical 20th- and 21st-century American music.

Jazz Music Library—Over 60,000 jazz albums in all styles.

On the BoardsNew! Contemporary dance, theater, and music performance videos.

Smithsonian Global Sound—Folk and popular music from around the world.
 

Online resources temporarily made available due to COVID-19

See a more extensive list on Allen Library's Streaming Audio & Video guide.

Metropolitan Opera—One archived performance available each day.

Montreux Jazz Festival—Over 50 jazz, rock, and pop concerts, including Nina Simone, David Sanborn, Santana, and more. Some tracks are available free to all users; full concert access requires signup for 30-day all access trial.

To sign up for the free trial, go to stingray.com/FREEMJF1M, enter code FREEMJF1M, enter your email address, and create a password. (You must enter a credit card, and your card will be billed after the 30-day trial unless you cancel your subscription.)

NPR—List of live-streamed concerts. Covers classical, jazz, folk, hip-hop, rock, pop, and more.

Philharmonie de Paris—Jazz and classical archived performances.
 

Open web resources

Dallas Symphony Orchestra—Full concerts, youth programs, musician interviews, and more.

Detroit Symphony Orchestra—Recordings of live performances from their past 4 seasons. Create a free account for access.

IMSLPBetter known for online scores, but offers an increasing number of recordings as well.

YouTube
 

Back to top


More Databasesmonitor icon

Online resources always available through the Libraries

University login required.

IPA Source—Transcriptions and translations of aria/song texts. (Off-campus access spotty.)

Music ID—Explore 60 years of music and artist rankings from 5,000+ charts in 70+ countries.

Musical America—Find jobs, festivals, and artist managers; read music industry news; and more.

Oxford Bibliographies Online—Lists of resources for advanced research on many music subjects.
 

Back to top

Top Library Resources

Library Catalog—Search for materials owned by the UH Libraries, including e-books. Find more e-books through the subject-specific lists (links below).

Database Locator—See all library databases, search for a specific one, or browse by subject.

eJournal Locator—Find our journal titles available online. University login required.

Subject Guides—Suggested resources for specific subject areas.

WorldCat—Search for materials owned by other libraries. University login required.question mark icon

ILLiad—Articles and book chapters can be delivered via Interlibrary Loan.

Allen Library Facebook

Want to get the latest updates? Follow us on Facebook!

University COVID-19 Information

University of Hartford COVID-19 Updates—The most recent updates from the university about classes, campus access, health recommendations, and more.

FCLD (Faculty Center for Learning and Development)—Information for instructors about online learning resources.

Technology—University tech resources and tips for online learning.

A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help

University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264