Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find a Specific Work/Composer
Find Scores and Recordings
In the Allen Library
- Open the library catalog.
- Search the title and composer's name.
- Limit to the format you desire.
- Find a result for the piece you need.
- Use the location and call number to find the item.
Image: Catalog search with the format limited to Printed Music, and search result showing location and call number.
Can't visit the library? Use our guides to Music Scores Online or Streaming Audio & Video to find online score & recording sites, then search for the piece you need.
Searching for music can be tricky! If you can't find what you need, ask a librarian for help.
Music in the library catalog (and similar tools) is not identified by composers' demographic information.
The most reliable method is to search for the name of a composer and/or work title.
The resources below can help you identify names and titles.
Use one to find a composer and/or work, then use the above method to locate a score or recording.
African Diaspora Music Project
Search over 3000 vocal and orchestral pieces by Black composers.
Beyond Elijah Rock: The Non-Idiomatic Choral Music of Black Composers
A spreadsheet of choral music outside the traditional idiomatic canon associated with black musicians (spirituals, gospel, jazz, hip-hop, etc.).
Brass Music by Women and Black Composers and Artists
One list for women and one for Black composers/artists, each with composer, title, and instrumentation.
Catalog of Trumpet Works by Gender-Marginalized People and/or Black, Indigenous, or Persons of Color
An extensive list of works for trumpet solo and in ensemble. Use the tabs at the top to navigate between different sections.
Guitar Music by Black Composers
Small but growing list of pieces with timings, links to recordings, and more. Click tabs at top of spreadsheet to view electric/acoustic, solo/chamber, and other plucked strings.
Institute for Composer Diversity
Research resources plus databases of composers and works searchable by genre, ensemble, and composers' demographic information.
Music by Black Composers
Resources for students and performers. Includes a directory of living composers and repertoire lists for various solo instruments.
No Broken Links
Lists solo and chamber repertoire for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, saxophone, and horn. Focuses on work by womxn, transgender & gender non-conforming individuals, and/or Black, Indigenous, or persons of color.
Organ Works by Composers from Africa and the African Diaspora
Hundreds of works compiled by Calvert Johnson. Listed by composer, with work titles and biographical information.
Percussion Pieces by Black Composers
Use the tabs at the bottom to navigate through lists of solo, ensemble, and other music with percussion.
A Seat at the Piano
A database of piano works from almost 200 composers of diverse backgrounds and identities.
Underrepresented Composer Database (Viola)
Over 1500 solo and chamber works for viola by underrepresented composers. Also accepts submissions for new works to add.
Woodwind Music of BIPOC Composers
A list assembled by the University of South Carolina flute studio. Tabs at the top separate the list by instrument.
Anthologies in the Allen Library (selections)
Anthology: A collection of musical works by different composers, published together.
We have much more music from Black composers in the library! Use the repertoire guides and websites elsewhere on this page to identify other composers and work titles, then search the library catalog for those specific works. See catalog search tips above, or ask a librarian for help.
Repertoire Guides in the Allen Library (selections)
Repertoire Guide: A list of music for a specific topic, instrument, or group. Often describes style, difficulty, or musical features.
Brass Music of Black Composers by
Call Number: ML128 B8 H67 1996 [Allen reference]
Covers composers around the world in the 19th and 20th centuries. Each entry provides biographical information as well as duration, instrumentation, date of publication, premiere, publisher, and more.
Keyboard Music of Black Composers by
Call Number: ML128 K55 H67 1992 [Allen reference]
Covers composers from Africa and the Diaspora. Each of the 200+ entries provides composer information, list of works for keyboard instruments, bibliography, and discography.
String Music of Black Composers by
Call Number: ML128 S9 H67 1991 [Allen reference]
Covers composers from Africa and the Diaspora. Each entry details the composer's life and career, and then lists all works with strings with information about commission, premiere, bibliography, and discography.
Woodwind Music of Black Composers by
Call Number: ML128 W5 H67 [Allen reference]
Publication Date: 1990
Biographies of 90 Black composers, plus an index of over 400 works for solo and chamber ensembles, grouped by number and type of instruments.
Suggest a Resource
Know of a resource we have you think should be added to this guide? Let us know!
Want to suggest we purchase something new? Contact Tracey Rudnick (firstname.lastname@example.org).
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264