Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
Audio in Media by
Call Number: TK7881.4 .A46 2005
Publication Date: 2004-06-11
In this market-leading text, Stanley Alten, an internationally recognized scholar and expert in the area of audio production, provides students with an introduction to the basic techniques and principles needed for audio production in media. The text has helped professors effectively teach this technically based course to the introductory audio production student through its clear and current illustrations and photos and student-friendly writing. Comprehensive, technically accurate, and up-to-date, the text covers informational, perceptual, and aesthetic aspects of sound as they apply to each stage of the production process -- from planning to post-production.
Audio Production Principles by
Call Number: TK7881.4 E34 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-12
With this all-in-one manual, students and teachers have an easy-to-read reference that provides a reliable and current rundown of the world of sound production, from planning a recording session to mastering the final product. Organized by four main topics - pre-production, recording various instruments, mixing theories and tools, and mastering - Audio Production Principles follows the actual flow of instruction given over the course of a student's tenure.
The Business of Audio Engineering by
Call Number: TK7881.4 H21 B87
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
The Business of Audio Engineering shares modern-day approaches that will dramatically increase your chances for success in the audio business. This book teaches you what you need to know about the life of a professional audio engineer with effective business strategies presented by an award-winning and highly-esteemed engineer/business pro. From attracting clients to keeping them; to hiring studios to working on your own, dealing with problem artists, producers, and labels; to handling a crisis (or keeping one from happening); to getting paid what you're worth and being worth what you're paid, Dave Hampton has the advice you need to manage your audio engineering career like the successful business it truly can be.
Handbook for Sound Engineers by
Call Number: TK7881.4 .H36 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Handbook for Sound Engineers is the most comprehensive reference available for audio engineers, and is a must read for all who work in audio. The fifth edition has been updated to reflect changes in the industry, including added emphasis on increasingly prevalent technologies such as software-based recording systems, digital recording using MP3, WAV files, and mobile devices. This edition has been honed to bring you the most up-to-date information in the many aspects of audio engineering.
Master Handbook of Acoustics, Sixth Edition by
Call Number: QC225.15 .E93 2015eb
Publication Date: 2014-12-08
The most complete and current guide to architectural acoustics principles and practices. Design and construct audiophile-quality sonic environments of all sizes--from home theaters and project studios to large-scale recording studios. Thoroughly revised to include new acoustical design techniques, Master Handbook of Acoustics, Sixth Edition, explains the art and science of room acoustics and architecture by combining theoretical instruction with matter-of-fact engineering advice. Written by renowned experts in the field and refined through several editions, this fully updated classic describes the fundamentals of acoustical properties, as well as the latest solutions to acoustical problems. Throughout, this authoritative text provides clear explanations, describes hands-on techniques, and features numerous room designs that can be built as presented, or adapted to your particular needs.
Math Fundamentals for Audio by
Call Number: TK7881.4 G37 2020
Publication Date: 2020-01-01
Math Fundamentals for Audio uniquely complements many popular textbooks on the recording arts and audio engineering with its fresh and thorough presentation of essential mathematical concepts. In this handbook Leslie Gaston-Bird applies principles from algebra, geometry, trigonometry and even calculus to concepts such as Ohm's law, delays, impedance, bandwidth and decibels. This concise book offers a foundation for connecting mathematics with modern software tools for digital audio.
The Recording Engineer's Handbook by
Call Number: TK7881.4 O97 R43
Publication Date: 2013-09-30
This fully updated edition offers the most comprehensive and up-to-date introduction to the art of audio recording. Written with special emphasis on today's technology and the evolving marketplace, this edition, includes a complete overview of recording as it's done by most musicians and producers today--in the home studio. Learn the art of recording from renowned author, teacher, producer, and engineer Bobby Owsinski, and, in the interviews, explore the creative processes behind not only today's hits but also the classic cuts we've enjoyed for years.
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
Engineering (General): TA
Acoustics in Engineering, Acoustical Engineering : TA365 - 367
Electronics: TK7800 - 8360
Acoustics. Sound: QC221 - 246
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264