Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Canadian Music Periodical Index
CMPI is an index to Canadian music periodical literature which provides bibliographic sources for information on all aspects of musical activity in Canada. Updated monthly, the database currently includes more than 25,000 entries indexed from 475 Canadian music periodicals.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
The Engineering Village Compendex is a comprehensive engineering literature databases available for engineers.
Over 4,000 albums by primarily American composers and artists, from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, nineteenth-century classical to early rock, music theater, and contemporary music. It includes the complete catalog of New World Records; repertoire from CRI, Albany Records, Innova Recordings; and liner notes and essays from these labels.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Includes over 1,200 essays about music from all parts of the world. This is the digital version of the print edition, which is found in the Allen Library reference collection at ML100 G37
Grove (now Oxford) Music Online
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz 2nd ed. The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music 2nd ed.
Jazz Music Library
Listen to over 66,000 jazz albums in all styles, including recordings from the Blue Note and Verve Records labels.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in a wide range of subjects. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.
Naxos Music Library
More than 150,000 albums of primarily classical music. Sign up for a free account to create playlists and access the mobile NML app
Describes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, including dance. Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, scholarly reviews, etc. International coverage, including non-English languages. The Allen Library also has printed volumes, 1967-1994.
Year Covered: 1967-Present
RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales) indexes music manuscripts created between 1600 and 1800 (plus some later years), showing what exists and indicating which libraries, archives, monasteries, schools, or private collections hold the original manuscript(s).
Smithsonian Global Sound
Over 3,000 streaming albums of traditional and popular music from around the world.
Off Campus Access
If you're off campus you will need to log in using your University of Hartford email address and password.
Still having trouble? Get Help
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264