Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites- Ancient History
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Users will find a wide range of useful material on the ancient world from this site. Submissions follow academic standards, yet are formatted for readability and ease of use. Geared towards digital users this encyclopedia site offers articles, photos, audio files, videos and other interactive media.
Written and maintained since 1996 by the Dutch historian Jona Lendering, this not-for-profit website contains over 4,000 pages and nearly 10,000 original illustrations. This project has created a large, easily searchable database on Ancient History.
History of the Ancient World
Created and curated by librarian and editor of Medieval Warfare Magazine, Peter Konieczny, and by Sandra Alvarez, the editor of Ancient History magazine (also the creators of Medievalist.net). This site contains news, articles and videos about antiquity. Covers prehistoric times to the Roman Empire.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Curated links to visual and audio material, but highlighting primary source texts for educational purposes with a focus on online texts. These are, generally, public domain texts translated over 75 years ago. Includes many of the older translations that are often found in commercially available sourcebooks.
Websites- Medieval History
Created and curated by librarian and editor of Medieval Warfare Magazine, Peter Konieczny, and by Sandra Alvarez, the editor of Ancient History magazine (also the creators of the History of the Ancient World website). Provides news, books, and articles, as well as coverage of pop culture, movies and games.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Contains a growing variety of texts addressing elite legal, governmental, religious and economic concerns. Sections have recently been added addressing women’s and gender history, Islamic and Byzantine history, Jewish history, and social history.
The Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
A curated list of links to internet resources in Medieval history from around the world. The site includes useful links to databases, services, texts, and images.
Decameron Web (Brown University)
This Decameron Web is a project by Brown University students utilizing an interactive design to examine and promote discussion of the Decameron texts; popular stories from people escaping Florence during the Plague.
Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts
This site from the National Library of the Netherlands and the Museum Meermanno-Westreenianum provides access to approximately 11,000 manuscript illuminations. They have been made searchable in several languages and are mostly from the late medieval period (15th century). These are only illuminations, not full manuscripts.
ThoughtCo.: Medieval and Renaissance History
Well curated site examining the history, culture and events of the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Includes articles and lists with full bibliographic citations.
Not sure if you should trust a website?
Go to our research tutorial to get tips on finding and evaluating websites
Chat With Us
Mortensen Circulation 860.768.4264
Mortensen Reference 860.768.4142
Reference Email email@example.com
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264