Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Civil Rights - PBS Collections
A collection of materials originally intended for the production of PBS’s Eyes on the Prize broadcast, the archival news footage, interview segments and other primary sources collected here are intended to preserve the events, voices and images of the Civil Rights Movement.
Civil War Digital-Diaries
This website is home to nearly 1700 Civil War diaries and personal narratives. Though the site contains other resources for purchase, these are free to access.
A large collection of resources that includes a U.S. History textbook, 400+ annotated documents curated from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, with supplemental primary source materials. Also included are essays, multimedia exhibitions, speeches and talks by historians, historical maps and images, and reference materials with a database of annotated links, glossaries, chronologies and classroom handouts.
An interactive project that focuses on the lives of ordinary Americans. Students are actively involved in analyzing and interpreting materials, while also welcoming users’ participation. Students will find the materials useful and instructors will find the project a valuable resource/example to examine how history is curated and presented.
Library of Congress
The largest library in the world, the Library of Congress houses millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts, as well as housing the U.S. Copyright Office. The Library of Congress has many resources and staff available online for a wide variety of academic endeavors. American history students will likely find their vast array of information particularly helpful.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) keeps the approximately 1%-3% of documents and materials created by the business of the Federal government deemed legally or historically important enough for perpetual preservation. These resources may be helpful for family research purposes, proving veteran’s military service, and—most importantly for students—research into topics of historical interest.
Smithsonian-National Museum of American History
Holdings include a wide array of objects and archival collections, including documents, photographs, and other works, as well as collections on American business and music. Includes many online resources and exhibitions useful to students.
Telling Their Stories Oral History Archives Project
Across 5 different projects, San Fransisco Bay area high school students have interviewed and recorded the oral histories of the Civil Rights era, urban changes resulting from redevelopment in the historically African American Fillmore District of San Francisco, witnesses to the the liberation of Nazi concentration camps and one to the Rwandan genocide, Japanese Americans deported to internment camps, and Holocaust survivors and refugees.
Includes founding documents and other highlights of American history such as military events, women's suffrage, the Civil Rights movement and other notable eras and events. Contains links to military museums, monuments and memorials.
Not sure if you should trust a website?
Go to our research tutorial to get tips on finding and evaluating websites
Chat With Us
Mortensen Circulation 860.768.4264
Mortensen Reference 860.768.4142
Reference Email email@example.com
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264