Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
50 Events That Shaped American Indian History by
Call Number: E77 .A125 2017 (v.1-2)
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
This powerful two-volume set provides an insider's perspective on American Indian experiences through engaging narrative entries about key historical events written by leading scholars in American Indian history as well as inspiring first-person accounts from American Indian peoples. Allows readers to understand the history of Indian communities and tribal governments in the United States and to consider complex and controversial questions on how to begin improving conditions for Indian communities in the 21st century.
The American Years by
Call Number: E174.5 .G753 2003 (v.1-2)
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
This fully revised and expanded edition provides year-by-year coverage of events in American history, covering such things as international events; business and industry; transportation; science and medicine; arts and music; literature and journalism; religion; and many other topics. This second edition includes events through 2002; 24 overview essays covering key events and themes; 55 primary source documents; sidebars spotlighting biographic and demographic information; approximately 400 new images; and much more.
A Dictionary of American History by
Call Number: E174 .P87 1997
Publication Date: 1997-05-05
This book is concise, easy -to-use guide to the individuals, peoples, parties, movements, events, decisions and wars that have shaped the history of the United States.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by
Call Number: E169.1 .E624 2001 (v.1-3)
Publication Date: 2001-03-26
In more than 200 articles written by scholars and enriched with illustrations, boxed biographies and documentary excerpts from primary sources, American thought and culture is thoroughly explored. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture by
Call Number: E169.12 .E49 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-22
As a meeting point for world cultures, the USA is characterized by its breadth and diversity. Acknowledging that diversity is the fundamental feature of American culture, this volume is organized around a keen awareness of race, gender, class and space and with over 1,200 alphabetically-arranged entries - spanning 'the American century' from the end of World War II to the present day - the Encyclopedia provides a one-stop source for insightful and stimulating coverage of all aspects of that culture.
Historical Dictionary of the U. S. Presidency by
Call Number: E176.1 .C7747 2016
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
This book covers the development of the presidential office within the context of constitutional interpretations of presidential power and socio-political and economic developments, as well as foreign affairs events, from 1789-2015. It provides details on the men who have held the office, and biographies of vice presidents, unsuccessful candidates for the office, and noteworthy Supreme Court and other appointees. The Historical Dictionary of the U.S. Presidency contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, an extensive bibliography and a dictionary section with 300+ cross-referenced entries.
The Oxford Companion to United States History by
Call Number: E174 .O94 2001
Publication Date: 2001-07-04
With over 1,400 entries written by some 900 historians and other scholars, it illuminates not only America's political, diplomatic, and military history, but also social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion; events that have shaped the nation; major Supreme Court decisions; landmark legislation; social movements; influential books; ideologies; even natural disasters. The Oxford Companion to United States History covers everything from Jamestown and the Puritans to the Human Genome Project and the Internet--from Columbus to Clinton.
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
History of the Americas: E and F
Chat With Us
Mortensen Circulation 860.768.4264
Mortensen Reference 860.768.4142
Reference Email firstname.lastname@example.org
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264