Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Mortensen Library Catalog
Africa - Art and Culture by
Call Number: N7380.5 .A374 2002
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
The African collection at Berlin's Ethnological Museum contains important masterpieces from many different regions of the continent. This stunning book includes more than two hundred color and black-and-white reproductions of masks, ceremonial figures, musical instruments, and objects of everyday life from throughout Africa. Essays by leading ethnologists supply important cultural and historical information on each region, as well as fascinating insights into the ways European and African art have traded influences over the centuries.
Africa and the West - A Documentary History by
Call Number: DT353.5.E9 A34 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-02
Africa and the West presents a fascinating array of primary sources to engage readers in the history of Africa's long and troubled relationship with the West. Many of the sources have not previously appeared in print, or in books readily available to students. In two volumes.
Africa as a Living Laboratory by
Call Number: Q180.A5 T55 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-15
Africa as a Living Laboratory is a far-reaching study of the thorny relationship between imperialism and the role of scientific expertise- environmental, medical, racial, and anthropological- in the colonization of British Africa. A key source for Helen Tilley's analysis is the African Research Survey, a project undertaken in the 1930s to explore how modern science was being applied to African problems.
Atlantic History by
Call Number: D206 .A86 2009
Publication Date: 2008-12-31
Atlantic history, with its emphasis on inter-regional developments that transcend national borders, has risen to prominence as a fruitful perspective through which to study the interconnections among Europe, North America, Latin America, and Africa. These original essays present a comprehensive and incisive look at how Atlantic history has been interpreted across time and through a variety of lenses from the fifteenth through the early nineteenth century.
Encyclopedia of African History by
Call Number: DT20.E53 2005eb
Publication Date: 2007-09-12
Covers the history of the entire African continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east.
Encyclopedia of twentieth-century African history by
Call Number: DT29.E53 2003eb
Publication Date: 2003
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History explores the ways in which the peoples of Africa and their politics, states, societies, economies, environments, cultures and arts were transformed during the course the 20th century. With full indexes and a thematic entry list, together with ample cross-referencing and suggestions for further reading, the Encyclopedia will be welcomed as an essential work of reference by both scholar and student of twentieth-century African history.
Neoliberal Africa: The impact of global social engineering by
Call Number: HC800 .H37 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-25
This book explores the ways in which African countries have experienced the neoliberal project, highlighting how this project has gone beyond economic liberalisation and towards a bolder social transformation. After thirty years of projects, aid disbursement, technical assistance, and conditionality, this book maps out the extent to which African states have cleaved to neoliberal directives. It suggests that neoliberal 'progress' in Africa is notably limited despite the resources behind it and the lack of alternatives to it.
Browse for Books
Want to browse the shelves? Here are some call number areas:
History: D History: DT- Africa
Social Sciences: H - Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform: HN ; Communities, Classes, Races: HT
Political Science: J - Political institutions and public administration: JQ - Middle East: JQ1758-1852 ; Africa: JQ1870-3981
Can't find the book or article you're looking for?
Request it through our interlibrary loan service, ILLiad@H. Our ILL librarian will find the book or article for you and have it sent to Mortensen Library. Don't have an account yet? Sign up for one now!
Log in to ILLiad@H
Chat With Us
Mortensen Circulation 860.768.4264
Mortensen Reference 860.768.4142
Reference Email firstname.lastname@example.org
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264