Short summary of the content of a book or journal article. Commonly found in databases.
Office responsible for the ordering and receipt of library materials other than serials and standing orders. Part of Library Resource and Metadata Services Department
Part of Harrison Libraries serving The Hartt School and all music, dance, and theatre programs, located in the lower level of Harrison Libraries. Allen Library.
A publication released on a regular, once a year schedule.
Collection of materials relating to the history and people of the University of Hartford. The Archives and Special Collections is open to University faculty, staff, students, and members of the general public by appointment. While some material remains confidential, most collections are accessible. Patrons are asked to observe archival procedures to help protect the collections. Photocopying of material is permitted if the material is in good condition. Archival material is non-circulating. Archives and Special Collections is located on the lower level of Harrison Libraries in Room 103. Archives.
List of research sources used in composing a document. Also, a collection (usually annotated) of sources related to a topic. Do not confuse with biography.
Older issues of periodicals which have been sent to the bindery. In Mortensen, shelved on the lower level in call number order. In Allen, shelved just behind the Reference section.
Unique letter and number combination to identify the location of a book or bound periodical on the shelf. Mortensen and Allen (Hartt) Libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) call number system. Call numbers group materials by subject.
C-Pods (Collaborative Pods)
C-Pods are designed to allow a group of students to work together on a project without having to crowd around a regular desktop computer. This allows students to spread out while working together on a computer with a wide screen monitor and space for up to three students to sit. C-Pod TVs provide space for a larger group of students to sit around a large TV monitor with a wireless keyboard and mouse. C-Pods and C-Pod TVs are located on the main level of Harrison Libraries. There is also a C-Pod room on the upper level in L-310, the key for which can be checked out from the Circulation Desk for four hours use at a time.
is the office responsible for the creation of the Libraries Catalog, including description, creation of the bibliographic record, and assignment of the call number. Part of Library Resource and Metadata Services Department.
is the service desk where books are checked out and returned. Also provides reserves, videos/DVDs, holds and recalls. Pick up Interlibrary Services materials here, too. Found at the front desk in Mortensen and at the entrance desk in Allen.
Citation and Style Guides
Information on how to create citations for use in research representing a myriad of different citation styles (including APA, MLA, Turabian, AMA, etc.). Also includes information on writing styles and terminology. Citation and Style Guides.
Storage area located in Harrison Libraries for less used materials. Items in Compact can be retrieved by Circulation staff.
The most recent issues of periodicals. Usually, but not always, the current year. In Mortensen, shelved on the lower level in alphabetical order by title. In Allen, they are located by the public computers.
An electronic collection of searchable information on one or more topics. Often subscription-only access is paid for out of the Libraries' budget.
Final research project completed by student in a doctoral program. Most are available in the stacks, but older ones may only be in the Archives. All University of Hartford dissertations published are searchable online and available full text since 2000 at Dissertations and Theses @ University of Hartford. All dissertations may be searched at Dissertations and Theses Abstracts with some being full text online.
eJournal A to Z
Listing of all periodicals that the Libraries provide access to (both in print and electronically) and where to find them. eJournals A to Z.
Assigned readings for class, in PDF format for reading or printing from a computer. Most classes now use Blackboard as the medium for providing this information.
Faculty Center for Learning Development (FCLD)
is the University center supporting the teaching environment by assisting faculty with the incorporation of technology and new teaching methods into their established curriculum. Housed on the main level of Harrison Libraries.
Online reproduction of the complete content of an article or book. Also, journals in which the majority of the articles have their content available online.
See Subject Guides below.
All libraries at the University of Hartford. Harrison Libraries.
See Allen Library above.
is a process to request a book which is currently charged out. The current borrower will not be able to renew the book, and the person placing the hold will be notified when it is returned. Ask for information at Circulation.
ILS or ILL
See InterLibrary Loan Services.
ISBN (International Standard Book Number)
Unique number, assigned by the publisher to a specific book title. Do not confuse with Call Number.
ITS (Information Technology Services)
The University department responsible for computer services, including staffing, maintenance, and operation of users branches. ITS (Information Technology Services).
Detailed alphabetical guide, usually, to the content of a book or series of books (such as an encyclopedia). Also, an alphabetical subject guide to articles in a collection of periodicals published on a regular schedule.
InterLibrary Loan Services
Also referred to as ILL, obtains books or copies of articles not owned by Harrison Libraries. Connected to over 9,000 libraries worldwide. On average, electronic articles are received within four (4) days and books are received within ten (10). Our online request system, ILLiad @ H, is available on Harrison Libraries' web page. The ILL office is located on the lower level of Harrison Libraries. InterLibrary Loan Services.
Professional or research publication issued on a regular schedule, and containing articles. Also referred to as periodical or serial.
Classroom located on the main level of Harrison Libraries.
Library of Congress (LC)
The national library of the United States. Also refers to the call number system used by Harrison Libraries.
Instant Messaging (IM) widget on the library's webpage that allows you to chat with a librarian. It's a great way to ask for help!
Online database of the holdings of Harrison Libraries. More generally, the database of the holdings of any library. The starting point for most research projects. Libraries Catalog.
Photographic reproduction of a document (usually a journal) on a flat piece of film. Filed in alphabetical order in the lower level of Harrison Libraries.
Photographic reproduction of a document (usually a journal) on rolled film. Filed in alphabetical order on the lower level of Harrison Libraries.
Any micro-formatted reproduction. See Microfiche and Microfilm.
Houses the general collections at the University of Hartford, serving most of the colleges. Part of the Harry Jack Gray Center. Mortensen Library.
See Allen Library above.
Using parts of texts or entire ideas of other persons as your own work.
Reference Services or Reference
Reference librarians help members of the University of Hartford community to identify and use sources of information. Mortensen Reference is at the Reference Desk or office on the main level. Allen Reference is at the main Service Desk on the lower level.
Process which allows you to extend the loan period for a book. Some restrictions may apply. Renewals may be requested online, by phone, or at the Circulation Desk.
Assigned readings for classes. Print materials are kept at the Mortensen and Allen circulation desks. Some materials may also be available as Electronic Reserves on Blackboard.
Resource and Metadata Services Department
Harrison Libraries department responsible for acquiring and making all libraries materials accessible. Includes Acquisitions, Cataloging, InterLibrary Loan Services, and Serials.
Shelves in the libraries.
Generic term for regularly or irregularly published recurring materials. Includes periodicals, annuals and semi-annuals. Also the department responsible for ordering and maintaining them. Part of Library Resource and Metadata Services Department.
See Citation and Style Guides above.
Online information sources, arranged in broad categories. Selected by Harrison Libraries staff as starting points for University students (includes online books, databases, websites, and more). Subject Guides.
Formally controlled and applied terms to describe the subject of a book or article. Used to focus a search particularly when keyword searching is not successful. Ask a librarian for assistance.
Final research project completed by honors or master's–level student. Most are available in the stacks, but older ones may only be in the Archives.
Computer lab with both Windows and Macintosh workstations, providing desktop applications such as word processing and spreadsheets, some special software, and Internet access. Supported by ITS.
Woods Family Classroom
Shared by Reference Services and the Faculty Center for Learning Development. Provides facilities for hands-on instruction in the use of library and other teaching and learning technologies, as well as FCLD offices. Located on the main level in Harrison Libraries.
A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Get Help
University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
Harrison Libraries © 2020 | 860.768.4264